Community Awards

Each year; as a college community we recognise and celebrate students who are recipients of external college awards across a broad range of areas including community and teamwork awards. We congratulate the following award recipients for 2020.

Kilbreda Mentone Wellbeing

Kwong Lee Dow Young Scholars Program
This program is offered by the University of Melbourne for high achieving Year 10 students. To be eligible students need to be in the top 5% of their year level and have demonstrated evidence of leadership, active citizenship and community involvement.
2020 Recipient: Kasey Thompson

Australian Defence Force Innovators Award
This award is presented to students in Years 10 and 12 who demonstrate outstanding Science and Mathematics abilities. It highlights the value the Navy, Army and Air Force place on STEM skills and STEM career opportunities within defence.
2020 Recipients:: Clara McEvoy and Amy Goodchild

Australian Defence Force Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Award
This award is presented to students in Years 10 and 12 who demonstrate leadership and teamwork within both the school and the broader local community. At the same time, it recognises those who display strong values, such as doing one’s best, respect for others and “mateship”, characteristics that are integral to Australian society.
2020 Recipient:: Natalie Meyer and Alice Merchant

Community Spirit and Leadership Award
This award is presented by Mark Dreyfus QC MP, Federal Member of Isaacs, as a means of rewarding a student who is a leader, not in an academic sense, but who leads through example and encourages others to contribute not only to their school community but to the wider community.
2020 Recipient:: Laura Mitchell

Outstanding Student Citizen Award
The Outstanding Student Citizen Award was established by Tim Richardson MP to recognise a student from the graduation group who has exhibited the qualities of an outstanding citizen. The student who is selected for the award would demonstrate thoughtfulness of the needs of others and show their concern for the betterment of the school community.
2020 Recipient:: Annabel Gorman

City of Kingston Award
This award is presented by the City of Kingston as a means of rewarding excellence and achievement within the student community.
2020 Recipient:  Angelique Palatino

Kildare Ministries Award
This award is presented to current students who have made an outstanding contribution to building a community where all people are valued and where all creation is recognised as sacred, through consistently demonstrating the values of Compassion Courage, Hope, Hospitality, Justice and Wonder.
2020 Recipients: Olivia Pope and Mia Layne