College Awards

Each year, as a college community we recognise and celebrate students who are recipents of college awards across a broad range of areas including community awards. We congratulate the following award recpients for 2019.

Shane Cormick Memorial Award
Shane Cormick was a past staff member of Kilbreda College and was respected by all. The Shane Cormick Memorial Award recognises a Year 7 student who shows empathy for others, demonstrates Strength and Kindliness, maintains a strong sense of justice, is gentle and compassionate to others and demonstrates initiative and perseverance.
2019 Recipient: Chloe Winduss

Dr Bridie Kean Award
Dr Bridie Kean is a past pupil of Kilbreda College and a Past Pupil of Distinction. Despite having her foot amputated, this did affect the rest of her life and she believed that overcoming your adversities and challenges is what really matters in life. The Dr Bridie Kean Award recognises a Year 8 student who looks for the positives in all situations, is brave enough to not follow the norm, sets goals and strives to achieve them no matter what,shows compassion and generosity to all and is able to work to overcome the challenges that life throws at you
2019 Recipient: Jemima Hollingworth

Emma Kelly Memorial Award
Emma Kelly attended Kilbreda College from 1996 to 1999 and lived her short life to the full. Emma epitomised the word ‘Courage. The Emma Kelly Award recognises a Year 9 student, who, like Emma, is a person who shows great courage and makes the most of every opportunity.
2019 Recipient: Natasha Wain

Kilbreda Mentone Wellbeing

Sr Denise Allen csb Memorial Award
Sr Denise Allen csb was a past pupil and teacher at Kilbreda College who epitomised the motto of Strength and Kindliness. The Sr Denise Allen csb Award recognises a Year 10 student who like Sr Denise, shows Strength and Kindliness, welcomes all with affirmation and personal interest and shows care to others in the community and does this all with a sense of humour and a big smile!
2019 Recipient: Sophia Bryant

Susan Duke Memorial Award
Susan Duke (née Morgan) attended Kilbreda College from 1990 to 1995. The Susan Duke Award recognises a Year 11 student, who, like Susan, is a person with a strong sense of self, is intelligent, self-directed, makes the most of opportunities and willingly engages with life.
2019 Recipient: Annabel Gorman

Sr Mary Dalton csb Memorial Award
Sr Mary Dalton CSB was Principal of Kilbreda from 1985 until the time of her death in 1995. This award is presented in her memory to recognise a student who shows excellence in a particular field, has a very positive attitude and constantly strives for achieving her personal best and has a commitment to service within the College and the wider community.
2019 Recipient: Emma Chamberlain

Mother Margaret Mary Bourke Memorial Award
Mother Margaret Mary Bourke was Principal of Kilbreda College from 1927to 1965. This award is presented in her memory to a student who has participated in a wide range of activities, achieved excellent results in her academic endeavours and involved herself in community service activities.
2019 Recipient: Lily Stubbs

Michelle Bassett Memorial Award
Michelle was born with a serious heart diseases, however overcame many difficulties to complete a very special and memorable time at Kilbreda. Maureen and John Bassett, Michelle’s parents, decided to donate this Award in Michelle’s memory to recognise a student with a determination to succeed and not be conquered by difficulties along the way.
2019 Recipient: Despina Nianiakos

Catherine Arlove Award
Thsi award is presented in recognition of Catherine Arlove, a Victorian Triple Olympian who completed her studies at the College in 1988. The recipient is a Year 12 student who has represented the College in the greatest number of sporting activities over her time at the College.
2019 Recipient: Holly Davies